What is “precious” in branding?

Clariant brand relaunch 2012

Task

Clariant is a globally active Swiss cor­poration in specialty chemicals with around 22,000 employees. As part of a funda­mental realigne­ment of the company, a new brand identity was to be developed. It should bring to life the brand core of “appreciation” as an ex­pression of esteem, sustain­ability and readi­ness to engage in dialogue.

Idea

The ‚Clarity’ image and graphic language, which stands for clarity, trans­parency and space, was the visual foundation used to determine the tonality of all design para­meters and communi­cation activities.
The new logo, a high-quality metallic body shaped as a stylized “C”, accompanied by an un­complicated and forceful word mark, is at the focus. The “badge” as a brand-forming element in all communication is derived from the logo.

Clariant Markenrelaunch 2012

Process

In close cooper­ation with Clariant, represen­tatives of all disciplines at MUTABOR were engaged in an inter­disciplinary process to develop a globally adaptable media package that included all relevant communi­cation channels. MUTABOR also supported the implemen­tation of the brand relaunch at the company with a coaching program.

For brand and product adver­tise­ments, in each case an indi­vidual appli­cation of the brand identity was defined and de­veloped.

A high-quality book with staff por­traits and their per­sonal ans­wers to the question “What is precious to you?” was presen­ted to every staff member to mark the brand launch.

Solution

The Clariant brand identity under­went a complete over­haul: corporate design, online, campaign, signage, architecture, 3-D identity, corporate pub­lishing, film and motion design.
An inter­national internal campaign, a brand book and a brand film formed the start for the new brand presence. A specially devel­oped brand room with inter­active exhibits allowed inter­action with the brand.

The new Clariant brand identity is used in all cor­porate materials of the group.

Clariant Markenrelaunch 2012 | Mutabor

Clariant’s 2014 wall calen­dars featured a graphic inter­pretation of chemical ele­ments. The attractive design of the calen­dar pages gives them a dual pur­pose: they can also be used as wrapping paper.

The Clariant brand room en­ables you to ex­perience the new brand identity in a multi-sensual way. It was used for work­shops and manage­ment training semi­nars for two years.

Clariant Markenrelaunch 2012 | Mutabor

Result

In no time at all, a lively glo­bal community filling the brand core with life was created at Clariant. The new approach and the new vision of Clariant were not only expres­sed in a new corporate design, but also established and put into practice as a common atti­tude.

Collaborating Partners

  • Gerald Bucher, Marek Vogel, Convoy Digital Branding

What is „precious“ in branding?

Clariant Markenrelaunch 2012

Aufgabe

Clariant ist ein global agierender Schweizer Konzern für Spezial­chemie mit rund 22.000 Mitarbeitern. Im Zuge einer grund­legenden Neu­aus­richtung des Unter­nehmens sollte eine neue Brand Identity entwickelt werden, die den Marken­kern „Appreciation“ als Ausdruck von Wert­schätzung, Nach­haltigkeit und Dialog­bereit­schaft zum Leben erweckt.

Idee

Das visuelle Fundament bildet dabei die Bild- und Grafiksprache „Clarity“, die für Klarheit, Transparenz und Raum steht und die die Tonalität aller Design-Parameter und Kommunikationsmaßnahmen definiert. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei das neue Logo: ein hochwertiger, metallischer Körper in Form eines stilisierten C, der von einer schnörkellosen und kraftvollen Wortmarke begleitet wird. Vom Logo abgeleitet: die „Badge“ als markenbildendes Element in sämtlicher Kommunikation.

Clariant Markenrelaunch 2012

Prozess

In einem inter­disziplinären Prozess, an dem Ver­treter aller Disziplinen bei MUTABOR beteiligt waren, und in enger Zusammen­arbeit mit Clariant wurde ein welt­weit adaptier­bares Medien­paket entwickelt, das alle relevanten Kommuni­kations­kanäle umfasste. MUTABOR unter­stützte die Implemen­tierung des Marken­relaunchs im Unter­nehmen zudem mit einem Coaching-Programm.

Clariant Markenrelaunch 2012 | Mutabor

Für Marken- und Produkt­anzeigen wurde jeweils eine eigene Anwen­dung der Brand Iden­tity definiert und en­twickelt.

Ein hoch­wertig pro­duzier­tes Buch mit Mit­arbeiter­porträts und ihren persön­lichen Ant­worten auf die Frage „What is precious to you?“ wurde zum Marken­launch an alle Clariant-Mit­arbeiter ver­teilt.

Lösung

Die Clariant Brand Identity wurde in allen Facetten über­arbeitet: Corporate Design, Online, Kampagne, Signage, Architektur, 3-D-Identity, Corporate Publish­ing, Film- und Motion-Design.
Eine inter­nationale interne Kampagne, ein Brand Book und ein Marken­film bildeten den Startschuss für den neuen Marken­auftritt. Ein eigens ent­wickelter Marken­raum mit inter­aktiven Exponaten ermöglicht die Aus­einander­setzung mit der Marke.

Die neue Clariant Brand Identity findet in allen Konzernmaterialien Anwendung.

Clariant Markenrelaunch 2012 | Mutabor

Für den Clariant-Wandkalender 2014 wurden chemische Elemente grafisch interpretiert. Die ansprechend gestalteten Kalenderblätter finden so als Geschenkpapier eine weitere Verwendung.

Der Clariant-Marken­raum er­möglichte ein multi­sen­suales Er­lebnis der neuen Brand Iden­tity. Er wurde zwei Jahre lang für Work­shops und Manage­ment-Schul­ungen ein­gesetzt.

Clariant Markenrelaunch 2012 | Mutabor

Ergebnis

In kürzester Zeit ent­stand innerhalb von Clariant eine lebendige, globale Com­munity, die den neuen Marken­kern mit Leben füllte. Der neue Anspruch und die neue Vision von Clariant wurden damit nicht nur in einem neuen Corporate Design aus­gedrückt, sondern als gemein­same Haltung etabliert und in die Tat um­gesetzt.

Beteiligte Partner

  • Gerald Bucher
  • Marek Vogel
  • Convoy Interactive