The future of flying.

Airbus Flying Green Experience Showcase 2013

Task

We live in a single global economy, in which air travel creates the true “World Wide Web.” At the same time, we are becoming increasingly aware of our environment. MUTABOR was commissioned to develop an interactive visual concept for the mobile showcase entitled “The Future by Airbus: Flying Green Experience.” The showcase discusses these topics picking users up and carrying them to the future in the year 2050.

Idea and Process

The Flying Green Experience showcase is aimed at Airbus employees, airlines and the broader aviation sector in general. The exhibition is designed to raise awareness for the sustainability and future of aviation. It also showcases Airbus’ vision for air travel in 2050 within the context of technological developments, R&D, products and investments, as well as current industry commitments.

During the process, both creative and content-related challenges were addressed and met. In terms of design, the team dealt with the jump from constructed “square” forms to bionic “soft” forms. Whereas the biggest content-related challenge was to depict the time span from “now” up to the year 2050 while integrating the topic of sustainability.

Solution

A compact mobile showcase
The Airbus Flying Green Experience occupies an area of 10 meters x 10 meters.
The compact showcase is designed for mobile use. The surface is made entirely of 3-D-thermoformed Corian and is brought to life by means of a giant media display.

Helical layout
Visitors enter the helical structure of the showcase and are guided past 15 displays, some of them interactive, until they arrive at the centerpiece in the middle – the Airbus concept plane.

The centerpiece
The interactive Concept Plane and Concept Cabin presentations constitute the highlight and centerpiece of the Airbus Flying Green Experience. The layout is designed to give a sense of what it would be like to fly in the Concept Plane in 2050.
A rotating 3-D-printed bionic model of the Airbus Concept Plane is synchronized with three interactive stations that enable visitors to take themed camera tours around and through the virtual real-time 3-D model.

Progressive design language
The graphic concept draws its inspiration from the futuristic design of the Airbus Concept Plane. Like the shape of the current supporting structures, the graphic elements change shape in the course of the exhibition, moving ever closer towards becoming a bionic network. The colors also brighten as one moves towards the center.

Result

This is an experience that makes the future become reality. The showcase focuses on the current challenges facing the aviation industry, while showing possible paths to a greener future.

Collaborating Partners

  • VRPE Team GmbH, wirmachenbunt Engler Fuchs GbR, Lindner Fotografie

The future of flying.

Airbus Flying Green Experience Showcase 2013

Aufgabe

Wir leben heute in einer ein­zigen glo­balen Wirt­schaft, in der die Luft­fahrt das wahre „World Wide Web“ bildet. Gleich­zeitig nimmt das Bewusst­sein für unsere Um­welt zu. MUTABOR wurde damit beauftragt, für den mobilen Show­case „The Future by Airbus: Flying Green Ex­pe­rience“ ein inter­aktives visuelles Kon­zept zu ent­wickeln, das diese Themen be­handelt und den Be­sucher dabei in der Gegen­wart abholt und bis in die Zu­kunft ins Jahr 2050 trägt.

Idee und Prozess

Der „Flying Green Ex­pe­rience“-Show­case richtet sich an Airbus-Mit­arbeiter, Flug­gesell­schaften und In­dustrie. Die Aus­stellung sen­sibili­siert für Nach­haltig­keit und für die Zu­kunft des Fliegens und zeigt gleich­zeitig die Vision von Airbus für die Luft­fahrt des Jahres 2050 im Kon­text von Tech­nologie­fort­schritten, For­schung & Ent­wicklung, Produk­ten, Investi­tionen und aktuellen Ver­pflicht­ungen der Branche.

Während des Pro­zesses gab es gestalterische sowie inhalt­liche Heraus­forderungen zu meistern. Gestalterisch sollte der Sprung von den kon­struierten, „eckigen“ For­men hin zu bionischen, „weichen“ Formen ge­lingen. In­haltlich war die Heraus­forderung, die Zeit­spanne vom „Jetzt“ bis ins Jahr 2050 ab­zubilden und dabei das Thema Nach­haltig­keit zu inte­grieren.

Lösung

Kom­pakter und mobiler Show­case
Die Airbus Flying Green Expe­rience präsen­tiert sich auf einer Grund­fläche von 10 Metern x 10 Metern. Der kom­pakte Show­case ist für einen mobilen Ein­satz aus­gelegt. Die Ober­fläche ist komplett aus drei­dimen­sional ver­formtem Corian ge­fertigt und wird durch eine groß­flächige mediale Be­spielung zum Leben erweckt.

Spiral­förmige Be­sucher­führung
Der schnecken­förmige Aufbau des Show­case gibt Be­suchern den Weg vor und führt sie an 15 teils inter­aktiven Sta­tionen ent­lang in das Zentrum – das Airbus Concept Plane.

Das Center Piece
Das High­light der Flying Green Expe­rience und gleich­zeitig das Zen­trum bilden die inter­aktive Ins­zenierung des Airbus Concept Plane und der Concept Cabin. Die Ge­staltung des Rau­mes ver­mittelt den Flug im Concept Plane des Jahres 2050.
Ein rotieren­des, 3-D-ge­drucktes bionisches Modell des Airbus Concept Plane wird mit drei inter­aktiven Stationen syn­chronisiert, die themen­spezifische Kamera­flüge um und durch das virtuelle Echt­zeit-3-D-Modell er­möglichen.

Progressive Design­sprache
Das gra­fische Konzept nimmt An­leihen an der futuris­tischen Flug­zeug­konstruk­tion des Airbus Concept Plane auf. In An­lehnung an die Gestalt aktueller tragen­der Struktur verändern die Grafik­elemente ihre Form im Verlauf der Aus­stellung immer weiter zu einem bionischen Netz­werk. Gleich­zeitig nimmt die Hellig­keit der Farb­welt zum Zentrum hin zu.

Ergebnis

Ein Erleb­nis, das die Zu­kunft real werden lässt. Der Show­case setzt sich mit den aktu­ellen Heraus­forderungen der Luft­fahrt ausein­ander und zeigt mögliche Wege zu einer grüneren Zu­kunft.

Beteiligte Partner

  • VRPE Team GmbH, wirmachenbunt Engler Fuchs GbR, Lindner Fotografie